Region information Rhône – Alpes

The French region of Rhône-Alpes is located in south-eastern France, between Paris and the Côte d'Azur, near the border with Switzerland and Italy. In the west, the rhône-alpes border is formed by the Massif Central mountain range and in the east by the Alps. Between these mountain ranges lies the valley through which two well-known rivers flow: the Saône and the Rhône. The region is named the river Rhône and the Alps, giving it the name: the Rhône-Alpes. The Rhône-Alpes borders the Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur region (PACA) to the south and then respectively clockwise speaking the French regions of Languedoc-Roussillon, Auvergne and Bourgogne-France-Comté. In addition, it borders the Italian regions of Valle d'Aosta and Piedmont and the Swiss cantons of Vaud, Valais and Geneva. A few years ago, rhône-alpes was merged with auvergne during the regional reorganization, after which the new auvergne-rhône-alpes region was created.

Departments of rhône-alpes region

The region consists of eight departments and these departments are controlled by the prefectures, the capitals of each department. The region is one of the most prosperous regions in Europe. After the region of Paris, it is the most important economic region of France. The departments of the Ardèche and the Haute-Savoie are, for example, very popular among holiday-makers. Rhône-Alpes is home to eight national parks including the parks in which the Mont Blanc and the Gorges de l'Ardèche are located. In the valleys of the Rhône there are large vineyards along the river Rhône where wines such as "Côtes du Rhône" are made.

Departments and prefectures

  • Ardèche - Privas
  • Ain - Bourg-en-Bresse
  • Rhône - Lyon
  • Loire - Saint-Etienne
  • Isère - Grenoble
  • Drôme - Vanlence
  • Savoie - Chambéry
  • Haute-Savoie - Annecy


The Haute-Savoie consists of three regions spread over four arrondissements. The four arrondissements are:

  • Annecy
  • Bonneville
  • Saint-Julien-en-Genevois
  • Thonon-les-Bains

In the department of Haute-Savoie, three regions can be distinguished that are mainly determined by nature:

  • The Chablais is the largest region. This is the region south of Lake Geneva up to the towns of Avoriaz and Morzine. This is also where Abondance, the village where FranceComfort – AlpChalets Portes du Soleil is in, is located. This mountainous region is part of the Portes du Soleil, part of which is in France and part in Switzerland and during the winter it is one of the largest ski resorts in Europe with many ski resorts such as Châtel, Lachapelle d'Abondance, Avoriaz, Morzine and Abondance.
  • The second region of Haute-Savoie is the Vallée d'Arve. In this region you’ll find Mont Blanc and places like Chamonix.
  • The third region is the Pays des Aravis. In this area you’ll find Annecy, Lake Annecy and the town of La Clusaz.
Wintersport 6 Frankrijk Abondance Portes du Soleil ski snowboard luxe appartement.jpg

Winter sports

During the winter, the mountains are covered with a thick layer of snow and attract many holidaymakers who go to the Portes du Soleil to go skiing, snowboarding or cross-country skiing. It is the largest ski resort in France with 650km of blue, red and black slopes. Cable cars ensure that you can quickly and easily get to the top of the slope from where you can start your next descent. There are plenty of restaurants in the region where you can have lunch and relax. At the end of the day, you can have fun at an après-ski. Ski equipment can be rented in the villages and lessons can be booked on the spot. You can buy ski passes in many places easily.

Summer vacation

The Chablais region, which is home to FranceComfort’s – AlpChalets Portes du Soleil Park, is a touristic region which attracts many holiday-makers every year. During the summer, the Alpine landscape is breathtakingly beautiful with its’ rugged mountains, rolling hills, deep valleys and Alpine meadows where you’ll find cows grazing. Scattered throughout the landscape there are authentic French villages with lovely terraces. The area is suitable for long walks and exciting bike rides. The northern part of the Chablais is located by Lake Geneva. Along the edges of the Lake you’ll find bustling cities and pretty villages such as Genéve, Thonon-les-Bains, Évian-les-Bains and Yvoire.

Back to the overview